News archive

Friday 20th October 2017

Midwife clocks up 32 years without a day off sick

Midwife clocks up 32 years without a day off sick
Description:
A community midwife who retired after 32 years without a day off sick has put her perfect record down to the joy of witnessing hundreds of births and healthy eating.
Date:
Friday 20 October 2017

Patients rate their emergency care

Patients rate their emergency care
Description:
Findings from a survey of more than 45,000 people who used urgent and emergency services provided by 137 NHS trusts in England show positive results for many aspects of care and treatment.
Date:
Friday 20 October 2017
Tuesday 17th October 2017

Harry Potter star brings magic to Low Vision Day at St Thomas'

Harry Potter star brings magic to Low Vision Day at St Thomas'
Description:
Actor Guy Henry will be sprinkling his magic when he opens St Thomas' Hospital's Low Vision Day event on Saturday 21 October at 12 noon in Shepherd Hall.
Date:
Tuesday 17 October 2017
Thursday 5th October 2017

Girl is youngest in the UK to have hearing implant

Girl is youngest in the UK to have hearing implant
Description:
A little girl who is the youngest person in the UK to have a middle ear implant has experienced life-changing benefits from the pioneering surgery.
Date:
Thursday 5 October 2017
Wednesday 4th October 2017

Patient transport crew bring TLC to dementia patients

Patient transport crew bring TLC to dementia patients
Description:
´╗┐Dementia patients are among those receiving extra support from Guy's and St Thomas' Patient Transport ambulance crews when they visit our hospitals.
Date:
Wednesday 4 October 2017
Monday 2nd October 2017

Films encourage smokers to quit

Films encourage smokers to quit
Description:
´╗┐New films featuring the stories of people who have been helped to kick the smoking habit by Guy's and St Thomas' stop smoking service have been released.
Date:
Monday 2 October 2017
Wednesday 27th September 2017

New Resuscitation area opens

New Resuscitation area opens
Description:
This project to create a new Emergency Floor on the ground floor of Lambeth Wing and East Wing at St Thomas' Hospital is now more than 75% complete.
Date:
Wednesday 27 September 2017
Tuesday 26th September 2017

Change to the Trust Executive Team

Change to the Trust Executive Team
Description:
Steve McGuire, Director of Essentia, will step down from his role as an Executive Director of Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust with effect from 30 September.
Date:
Tuesday 26 September 2017
Thursday 21st September 2017

New treatment centres bring care closer to home

New treatment centres bring care closer to home
Description:
Two new centres for cancer treatment and kidney dialysis in Sidcup were officially opened by James Brokenshire MP on Tuesday 19 September.
Date:
Thursday 21 September 2017
Wednesday 20th September 2017

Trust teams recognised for excellent patient information

Trust teams recognised for excellent patient information
Description:
Information for patients has been recognised by the British Medical Association (BMA) as part of their annual Patient Information Awards.
Date:
Wednesday 20 September 2017
Thursday 14th September 2017

Search is on to find the "next generation" of Florence Nightingales

Search is on to find the "next generation" of Florence Nightingales
Description:
Guy's and St Thomas' this week celebrated the launch of the "Nightingale Nurse Award", a new professional award to recognise its most outstanding nurses.
Date:
Thursday 14 September 2017
Monday 11th September 2017

Response to terrorist attacks recognised

Response to terrorist attacks recognised
Description:
Staff working across public services to help people affected by the terrorist attacks at Westminster and London Bridge, as well as the Grenfell Tower fire, were publicly recognised at NHS Lambeth CCG's annual Lammy Awards on Wednesday 6 September.
Date:
Monday 11 September 2017
Thursday 7th September 2017

Communications team wins national award

Communications team wins national award
Description:
The Guy's and St Thomas' Communications team has been named as the Health and Local Government Communications Team of the Year.
Date:
Thursday 7 September 2017

Chairman visits patients and "brilliant" staff at Bowley Close

Chairman visits patients and "brilliant" staff at Bowley Close
Description:
Sir Hugh Taylor, Guy's and St Thomas' Chairman, received a whistle-stop tour of the Bowley Close Rehabilitation Centre on Thursday 31 August. Patients and carers praised staff at the centre for the vital support they provide to improve the quality of their lives.
Date:
Thursday 7 September 2017
Wednesday 30th August 2017

Bereaved mother calls for more organ donors

Bereaved mother calls for more organ donors
Description:
A woman whose daughter died in need of a transplant and who later donated her own kidney to save someone else's life is urging people to sign the Organ Donor Register.
Date:
Wednesday 30 August 2017
Displaying 1 to 15 of 951
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next