News archive

Friday 23rd June 2017

Ex-military celebrate careers in the NHS

Ex-military celebrate careers in the NHS
Description:
Changing career is never easy, but an initiative that has helped more than 160 former service personnel in London and the South East apply for jobs in the NHS is celebrating its success.
Date:
Friday 23 June 2017

Specialised assessments cut hospital stays for older patients

Specialised assessments cut hospital stays for older patients
Description:
Specialised pre-operative assessments for elderly patients lead to shorter hospital stays and fewer complications, according to a new clinical trial at Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust.
Date:
Friday 23 June 2017

£1.8 million gift to fight bladder cancer

£1.8 million gift to fight bladder cancer
Description:
A major donation to fund research into a 'forgotten' cancer that kills 15 people every day in the UK is set to benefit patients at Guy's and St Thomas'.
Date:
Friday 23 June 2017
Thursday 22nd June 2017

Celebrating Reserves' Day

Celebrating Reserves' Day
Description:
Nurses from Guy's and St Thomas' celebrated Reserves' Day on Wednesday 21 June which recognises people who give up their time to serve as reservists in the Armed Forces.
Date:
Thursday 22 June 2017
Monday 19th June 2017

Films help patients understand heart medicines

Films help patients understand heart medicines
Description:
Patients with atrial fibrillation (an abnormal heartbeat) are now better informed about their medicines, thanks to a series of films produced by the cardiovascular department.
Date:
Monday 19 June 2017
Thursday 15th June 2017

Patients transported to exotic locations by architecture at Cancer Centre

Patients transported to exotic locations by architecture at Cancer Centre
Description:
A unique space created at the Cancer Centre at Guy's Hospital to stimulate the imagination of patients and visitors is being showcased as part of the London Festival of Architecture.
Date:
Thursday 15 June 2017
Tuesday 13th June 2017

Young with diabetes and confident

Young with diabetes and confident
Description:
Guy's and St Thomas' Youth Empowerment Skills (YES) programme supports youngsters aged between 14 and 19 to explore what it means to be a young person with Type 1 diabetes, and, how to stay healthy.
Date:
Tuesday 13 June 2017
Wednesday 7th June 2017

Read the latest issue of the GiST

Read the latest issue of the GiST
Description:
A new edition of the GiST, the quarterly magazine from Guy's and St Thomas', is now available.
Date:
Wednesday 7 June 2017
Tuesday 6th June 2017

Guy's Hospital nurse named as London Bridge terror victim

Guy's Hospital nurse named as London Bridge terror victim
Description:
It is with great sadness that we can confirm that a member of Guy's and St Thomas' staff tragically died during the London Bridge terror attack on Saturday 3 June.
Date:
Tuesday 6 June 2017
Thursday 1st June 2017

Patients rate their hospital care

Patients rate their hospital care
Description:
90% of our patients rate the quality of care they receive at Guy's and St Thomas' as 7 out of 10 or higher, according to the results of the Care Quality Commission's national inpatient survey published yesterday (Wednesday 31 May).
Date:
Thursday 1 June 2017
Wednesday 31st May 2017

Low cost drug can reduce maternal deaths by a third

Low cost drug can reduce maternal deaths by a third
Description:
A cheap and widely available drug called Tranexamic Acid (TXA) reduces death due to bleeding after childbirth by nearly one third, according to a major study published in The Lancet.
Date:
Wednesday 31 May 2017

Capital cancer treatment

Capital cancer treatment
Description:
A new regional centre of excellence for complex cancer surgery has been launched by Guy's Cancer.
Date:
Wednesday 31 May 2017
Friday 26th May 2017

Cancer Centre wins London architecture and engineering awards

Cancer Centre wins London architecture and engineering awards
Description:
The new Cancer Centre at Guy's has won two prestigious industry awards.
Date:
Friday 26 May 2017

New book is a "love letter to the NHS"

New book is a "love letter to the NHS"
Description:
A new book tells the story of a patient whose life was saved by the expertise of staff on the Intensive Care Unit at St Thomas' Hospital after he fell into a coma.
Date:
Friday 26 May 2017
Thursday 25th May 2017

New Foundation Trust Lead Governor elected

New Foundation Trust Lead Governor elected
Description:
Patient Governor Devon Allison was elected as the new Lead Governor at a public meeting of the Council of Governors on Wednesday 26 April.
Date:
Thursday 25 May 2017
Displaying 1 to 15 of 920
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next