Researchers

We have a long tradition of undertaking ground-breaking biomedical and public health research that is publicly-funded.

Why do research at Guy’s and St Thomas’?

We're one of the largest NHS trusts in England and our local community is one of the UK’s most diverse and multicultural populations.

We have excellent research facilities, and we are home to a Biomedical Research Centre and a Clinical Research Facility, which include cutting edge genomics, stem cell and flow cytometry capabilities, as well as dedicated space for patients to take part in studies.

We frequently collaborate with healthcare and academic institutions from the UK and internationally, and have high quality partnerships with leading UK hospital trusts and academic institutions.

Key contacts

We have dedicated people to help you get your research up and running.

Research and development governance team

Contact the team to register non-commercial research or industry-funded (but not led) research with us. 

If you are a sponsor and would like Guy's and St Thomas' to act as a participating site please email your Health Reserach Authority packs and study paperwork to R&D@gstt.nhs.uk.

  • Dr Mays Jawad – R&D governance manager 
    Tel: 020 7188 7188 ext 54426
    Email: mays.jawad@gstt.nhs.uk

  • Elizabeth Bruna – R&D governance specialist (GI surgery and medicine, renal transplant and urology, surgery, acute medicine, perioperative, critical care, pain)
    Tel: 020 7188 7188 ext 51682
    Email: elizabeth.bruna@gstt.nhs.uk
  • Dale Batham - governance specialist (oncology, haematology, cellular pathology, medical specialties)
    Tel: 020 7188 7188 ext 51954
    Email: dale.batham@gstt.nhs.uk
  • Katie Arnold – R&D Facilitator (cardiovascular, clinical imaging, med physics, genetics, rheumatology, infection, dermatology, allergy)
    Tel: 020 7188 7188 ext 54428
    Email: katie.arnold@gstt.nhs.uk
  • Eleanor Browne - R&D facilitator (dental, women's services)
    Tel: 020 7188 7188 ext 51827
    Email: eleanor.browne@gstt.nhs.uk
  • Kirstie Shearman - R&D facilitator (Evelina London, therapies)
    Tel: 020 7188 7188 ext 51071
    Email: kirstie.shearman@gstt.nhs.uk
  • Mariusz Marcinkowski - R&D coordinator
    Tel: 020 7188 7188 ext 53528
    Email: mariusz.marcinkowski@gstt.nhs.uk
  • Lauren Arnold - R&D coordinator
    Tel: 020 7188 7188 ext 51389
    Email: lauren.arnold@gstt.nhs.uk
  • Marie Thornhill - contracts manager
    Tel: 020 7188 7188
    Email: marie.thornhill@gstt.nhs.uk
  • Lola Adeyemi - contracts associate
    Tel: 020 7188 7188  ext 53910
    Email: lola.adeyemi@gstt.nhs.uk

Non-commercial trials

Commercial trials

R&D capability statement

Download our capability statement (Excel 239Kb). 

Our research facilities

We are home to a biomedical research centre and a clinical research facility, which include cutting-edge genomics, stem cell and flow cytometry capabilities, as well as dedicated space for patients to take part in studies.

Top NHS trust in London for  research

Guy’s and St Thomas’ carries out more research studies than any other NHS trust in London, and is in the top three trusts nationally.

Our cancer biobank

Our cancer biobank at Guy’s Hospital contains around 40,000 samples from more than 17,000 patients. A team of 12 staff look after the biobank and make sure that the samples and data are of the highest possible quality.