News archive

Thursday 18th January 2018

Heroic Trust medics help to combat diphtheria outbreak in Bangladesh

Heroic Trust medics help to combat diphtheria outbreak in Bangladesh
Description:
A doctor and nurse from Guy's and St Thomas' are helping to save thousands of people in Bangladesh who are at risk from a deadly outbreak of diphtheria.
Date:
Thursday 18 January 2018
Wednesday 17th January 2018

Mums credit free classes for transforming their health

Mums credit free classes for transforming their health
Description:
Two free healthy living programmes run by Guy's and St Thomas' are helping to transform the lives of residents in Lambeth and Southwark.
Date:
Wednesday 17 January 2018
Tuesday 16th January 2018

Thumbs up for new style of community nursing

Thumbs up for new style of community nursing
Description:
´╗┐Plans are being put in place by Guy's and St Thomas' to adopt a "radical" method of community nursing after an independent report showed that patients, carers and nurses are positive about its impact. The Trust is the first NHS organisation in England to test a scheme which uses key elements of the Dutch nursing model known as Buurtzorg.
Date:
Tuesday 16 January 2018
Monday 15th January 2018

Getting in on the conversation

Getting in on the conversation
Description:
´╗┐Men in Southwark who find conversation difficult because of health conditions like Parkinson's disease, Alzheimer's and stroke are overcoming their difficulties thanks to a 'conversation group' set up by speech and language therapists at Guy's and St Thomas' Adult Community Services.
Date:
Monday 15 January 2018
Wednesday 10th January 2018

Trust urges Londoners to discuss organ donation

Trust urges Londoners to discuss organ donation
Description:
Guy's and St Thomas' is appealing to Londoners to talk to their friends and relatives about organ donation, as new figures show less than half of people have ever talked about it.
Date:
Wednesday 10 January 2018
Wednesday 3rd January 2018

Sisters act to quit smoking with NHS support

Sisters act to quit smoking with NHS support
Description:
Two sisters from Peckham, who stopped smoking 20-a-day in April 2017, have credited their success to an "amazing" Guy's and St Thomas' stop smoking specialist.
Date:
Wednesday 3 January 2018
Tuesday 2nd January 2018

OBE honour for leading obstetrician

OBE honour for leading obstetrician
Description:
A consultant obstetrician at Guy's and St Thomas' has been recognised in the New Year Honours List for his work in maternity services.
Date:
Tuesday 2 January 2018
Thursday 28th December 2017

The perfect gift: Christmas Day babies born at St Thomas' Hospital

The perfect gift: Christmas Day babies born at St Thomas' Hospital
Description:
While many of us tucked into turkey and lounged in front of the TV, midwives at St Thomas' Hospital helped with some extra special deliveries on Christmas Day.
Date:
Thursday 28 December 2017
Tuesday 19th December 2017

MP joins patients and staff to wish Gracefield Gardens Happy 10th birthday

MP joins patients and staff to wish Gracefield Gardens Happy 10th birthday
Description:
MP Chuka Umunna joined patients and staff from Guy's and St Thomas' and Evelina London as they celebrated the 10th birthday of Gracefield Gardens Health Centre in Streatham on Friday 15 December.
Date:
Tuesday 19 December 2017
Tuesday 12th December 2017

Celebrating over 700 years of loyal service

Celebrating over 700 years of loyal service
Description:
Staff who have dedicated most of their careers to working for Guy's and St Thomas' were honoured at the Trust's annual Long Service Awards.
Date:
Tuesday 12 December 2017
Wednesday 6th December 2017

Trust launches film campaign to recruit the next generation of nurses

Trust launches film campaign to recruit the next generation of nurses
Description:
Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust has created new films to encourage the next generation of nurses to join the NHS.
Date:
Wednesday 6 December 2017

New research facility to boost eye research at Guy's and St Thomas'

New research facility to boost eye research at Guy's and St Thomas'
Description:
A new state-of-the-art clinical eye research facility opened at Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust on 22 November.
Date:
Wednesday 6 December 2017
Friday 1st December 2017

Research facility at Guy's and St Thomas' receives highest accreditation in London

Research facility at Guy's and St Thomas' receives highest accreditation in London
Description:
The NIHR Clinical Research Facility (CRF) at Guy's and St Thomas' has become the first NHS-managed facility in London, and the second in the UK, to receive a special award recognising its high standards.
Date:
Friday 1 December 2017
Thursday 30th November 2017

Pioneering cancer surgery is broadcast live to the world

Pioneering cancer surgery is broadcast live to the world
Description:
Surgeons at Guy's Hospital invited the world into their operating theatre when they took part in an international live robotic surgery event this week.
Date:
Thursday 30 November 2017
Thursday 23rd November 2017

Student nurse trains at the hospital that saved her life

Student nurse trains at the hospital that saved her life
Description:
A woman who nearly died due to a deadly strain of meningitis is now training to become a nurse at the same hospital that saved her life.
Date:
Thursday 23 November 2017
Displaying 1 to 15 of 974
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next