Adnan Al-Kaisy

Clinical lead of the pain management and neuromodulation centre


Adnan Al-Kaisy is currently clinical lead of the pain management and neuromodulation centre at Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust. 

Adnan has an international reputation as a leading expert in pain management and has extensive experience in working towards the advancement of electrical neuromodulation techniques within this speciality.

He led the first multicenter and multinational study on the safety and efficacy of 10kHz SCS in the management of failed back surgery syndrome (FBSS). He has subsequently clinically pioneered the use of this novel therapy in the management of different chronic pain conditions including the feasibility study on chronic back patients without prior surgery. Adnan has successfully designed groundbreaking research including a randomised double blind placebo control study examining different frequency in the management of FBSS. He is the innovator of a number techniques including transgrade dorsal root ganglion stimulation using monopolar electrical stimulation.

Adnan continues to teach and lecture on essential and pioneering topics in pain management in the United States, Europe, Australia and Asia. He is the chair of the biannual London Spine Pain Symposium at Guy’s and St Thomas’ Hospital.

Education and training

  • Fellow of interventional pain practice, World Institution of Pain 2009
  • Fellowhsip of the faculty of pain medicine of the royal college of anaesthetists (FPMRCA), Royal College of Anaesthetists, England 2007 
  • Honorary research associate, Neurological Science/Walton Centre 1998
  • Fellowship in pain, Toronto University, Canada 1997
  • National board of medical examiners, USA 1995
  • Fellowship of royal college of anaesthetists (FRCA), Royal College of Anaesthetists, England 1994
  • Bachelor of medicine, bachelor of surgery (MBChB), Basrah University, Iraq 1983

Research interests

  • High cervical spinal cord stimulation
  • Discovery of new biomarkers or biosignatures to aid further research and drug discovery


  • Hospital Doctor Award, 2001 
  • Best Free Paper Competition, Society of Anaesthesia “respirator effects of low dose bupivacaine interscalene block”, 1997
  • Registrars Prize, Best Free Paper Competition, Society of Anaesthetists “capnography and the laryngeal mask airway”, 1995

Last updated: February 2023

Is this page useful?