Andrew Pink


Consultant dermatologist


Andrew Pink is a consultant dermatologist and the clinical trials lead for adult medical dermatology at St John’s Institute of Dermatology, Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust. He is an honorary clinical lecturer at King’s College London and the honorary secretary of the St John’s Dermatological Society. His key clinical and academic interests are psoriasis and eczema.

Andrew qualified from The University of Nottingham Medical School in 2004. After completing his general medical training he was awarded the first National Institute of Health Research (NIHR) Academic Clinical Fellowship in Dermatology, based at St John’s Institute of Dermatology and King’s College London.

During his clinical dermatology training he was awarded an MRC Clinical Research Training Fellowship to undertake and complete a PhD in the field of medical dermatology (molecular genetics of hidradenitis suppurativa), during which he received an MRC Centenary Award. He was subsequently awarded an NIHR Academic Clinical Lectureship at St John’s Institute of Dermatology and King’s College London prior to starting his consultant post.

Education and training

  • PhD – King’s College London, 2014
  • MRCP (Dermatology) – Royal College of Physicians, 2014
  • MRCP (UK) – Royal College of Physicians, 2007
  • BMBS – University of Nottingham, 2004
  • BMedSci (Hons) – University of Nottingham, 2002

Research interests

Andrew has developed and manages the large clinical trials team at St. John's, working together with Professors Jonathan Barker and Catherine Smith as part of the Skin Therapy Research Unit. The team run a large portfolio of phase II-IV clinical trials, offering the very latest treatments to patients with inflammatory skin conditions such as eczema and psoriasis.


  • British Medical Journal Dermatology Team of the Year Award 2016 – British Medical Journal, 2016
  • MRC Centenary Early Career Award – Medical Research Council, 2012

  • MRC Clinical Research Training Fellowship – Medical Research Council, 2010


Last updated: April 2022

Is this page useful?