Cope, Andrew – consultant rheumatologist

Our services

More in this section

Professor Andrew Cope, consultant rheumatologist


Tel: 020 7484 6901

Area of expertise: rheumatology

  • Biography

    Andrew Cope is currently Head of the Academic Department of Rheumatology and Associate Director of the King’s Clinical Trials Unit.

    He graduated in medicine from the University of London with first class honours. After training in general internal medicine at Northwick Park Hospital, The National Hospital for Nervous Diseases and the Royal Brompton Hospital, he trained in rheumatology with Professor Sir Ravinder Maini. He completed his doctoral research studies with Professor Sir Marc Feldmann at the Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology.

    In 2008, Andrew was recruited to the Arthritis Research UK Chair in Rheumatology at King’s College London.

  • Specialist interests

    • Inflammatory arthritis including rheumatoid arthritis
    • Immune mediated inflammatory diseases
    • Clinical trials.
  • Research interests

    • Disease focus: autoimmune disease with a focus on the pathogenesis of rheumatoid arthritis
    • Laboratory focus: pathways of T cell activation and differentiation; investigating how genetic mutations in immunologically important genes contributes to susceptibility to inflammatory disease (functional genomics).
  • Awards

    • Rector’s Award for Academic Excellence (Imperial College London), 2005
    • Michael Mason Prize (citation: awarded by the British Society for Rheumatology for excellence in clinical or scientific research in the field of rheumatology), 2002
    • Arthritis National Research Foundation Award (USA), 2002
    • Young Investigator Award, european workshop for rheumatology research, 2002
    • Trust Senior Fellowship in Clinical Science, 1999
    • Young Investigator Award, Hellenic Society for Rheumatology (European League Against Rheumatism), 1998
    • Travel Fellowship awarded by the EULAR/ACR Academic Exchange Programme, 1998
    • National Institutes of Health Travel Fellowship (USA), 1998.