Guy’s and St Thomas’ honours its outstanding nurses and midwives

Friday 13 May 2022

Nurses and midwives in a group with their awards

Winners at the Nursing and Midwifery Awards

Guy’s and St Thomas’ has been celebrating its outstanding nurses and midwives who have gone above and beyond for their patients and colleagues.

Now in its sixth year, the Trust’s annual Nursing and Midwifery Awards honoured 24 individuals and a team. The award ceremony took place at St Thomas’ Hospital and was streamed to several other sites across the Trust. 

Professor Greta Westwood, Chief Executive Officer of the Florence Nightingale Foundation, kicked off the celebrations by giving an inspirational speech about her 44-year nursing career and thanked staff for never losing focus over the last two years.

Florence Awichi
Florence Awichi

Florence Awichi, who leads a team of community midwives, was named Midwife of the Year. She was recognised for her calm and compassionate leadership style, and her expertise in caring for women who have more complex social and medical care needs.

Team of the Year went to the emergency department (A&E) at St Thomas’ Hospital. As one of the busiest department’s in the country, the nurses care for hundreds of patients each day. They regularly contribute ideas for new ways of working for the benefit of patients and the department.

Joseph Juaneza, a lead nurse at Royal Brompton Hospital, was named Heart, Lung and Critical Care Nurse of the Year. He was recognised for supporting and developing the nurse-led sedation programme in the cardiac catheter laboratories. Joseph acts as a role model, remaining calm under pressure especially when dealing with complex situations.

Evelina London Nurse of the Year went to Atinuke ‘Tinu’ Ademefun, a senior staff nurse who cares for children and young people who require dialysis treatment. Tinu involves patients in their treatment and takes the time to explain information to them. She always encourages her team to develop their skills and students enjoy her tailor-made presentations and quizzes.

Sarah Smith, from the health inclusion team, won Community Nurse of the Year for her work supporting homeless patients with complex social and medical histories. She has advanced skills and can offer a full range of services to vulnerable people, and always treats everyone with dignity and respect.

Waqas Choudhry
Waqas Choudhry

Waqas Choudhry, head of nursing for theatres, anaesthesia and perioperative care, received the Senior Leadership Award. He was recognised for his ‘can do’ attitude and for introducing a wellbeing plan, allowing his team time to reflect, rest and recharge. 

At the end of the ceremony Joy Godden was presented with the prestigious Chief Nursing Officer for England Silver award which recognises major contributions to patients and the profession. She was honoured for her services to the NHS having been Director of Nursing and Governance at Royal Brompton and Harefield hospitals before retiring in December 2021. She was presented with the award by Duncan Burton, Deputy Chief Nursing Officer for England.

Avey Bhatia, Chief Nurse at Guy’s and St Thomas’, said: “The compassion, professionalism and skills shown by our staff over the last two years represents nursing and midwifery care at its best. I am incredibly proud of all our nurses and midwives and it’s really important that their hard work and outstanding care is recognised and celebrated.”

A huge congratulations to all of the award winners:



Community nurse of the year

Sarah Smith

Consultant nurse or midwife of the year

Karina Jackson

Specialist nurse of the year

Jane Rains

Rising star of the year

Amy Packwood

Dental nurse of the year

Belinda Thompson

Nursing matron of the year

Kate Nash

Midwifery matron of the year

Marie Gribben

Senior leadership award

Waqas Choudhry

Nursing assistant, community rehabilitation or community support worker of the year

Nuno Rosa

Maternity support worker of the year

Teresa Fuller

Sister or charge nurse of the year

Panagiotis Poimenidis

Evelina London nurse of the year

Atinuke Ademefun

Team of the year

Emergency Department Team

Patient's choice award

Lucy Moorhead

Research nurse of midwife of the year

Charlotte John

Nursing associate of the year

Naimah Begum

Midwife of the year

Florence Awichi

Practise development nurse or midwife, or clinical educator of the year

Elizabeth Dunn

Cancer and surgery nurse of the year

Sherifat Gbadamosi

Heart, lung and critical care nurse of the year

Joseph Juaneza

Student nurse, midwife, nursing associate or dental nurse apprenticeship of the year

Holly Leach

Integrated and specialist medicine nurse of the year

Angela Plunkett

The Nightingale Fellowship award

Pippa Clark

Guy’s and St Thomas’ nurse or midwife of the year

Sherifat Gbadamosi

Chief Nurse award

Kathleen Daly

Last updated: May 2022

Contact us

Media enquiries
Phone: 020 7188 5577
Email: [email protected]